about to pass on a year

Questions:
Do you have any mission one year anniversary traditions?
No, I haven´t completed a year yet. How could I?
That was really, really, dumb, dry humor for all of you that didn’t get it.
There are some traditions in the mission of burning a tie or a shirt. However, I think they are sillly.
I am also going to be in Viña for my year mark and plan on writing down what I feel, what I have learned and how I have progressed on the Bus ride home.

Share something funny that happened this week.
There are always funny little things happening. As it so happens nothing to big is coming to my mind but for example…
This morning we got one of the Elders to change how he ties his tie so that he looks more professional. We had about a 15 minute discussion of it. The kind of thing that only happens between missionaries.
Nothing too big. They are normally things of the moment.

Share a time this week you felt guided by the Spirit.
Tuvimos algunas lecciones donde realmente no recuerdo mucho de lo que dije. Solo que las lecciones salieron super bien y tuvimos exito. [which according to Mark means, “We had some lesson where really I don’t remember much of what was said. I just remember that they went really well and we had a lot of success.”]
Also when we asked a question to this one guy that has like 8 months investigating the church and he just opened up. He asked. Why does it hapen that when you all visit I go up a couple levels in happiness and then you leave and little by little it goes away? Golden question, but all started by a small question that we felt we had already done a thousand times before.

Share some of the things you most admire about your companion.
He is very dedicated.
He naturally loves the people here. Alll of the people here.
He is patient.
He reminds me a lot of Mark (He is 21, almost 22)

Share some recent advice you have received from your mission president you have found helpful.
Doctrine & Covenants 101:16 Therefore, let your hearts be comforted concerning Zion; for all flesh is in mine hands; be still and know that I am God.
It was nice just to feel calm and recognize again, that it is not my work. Nor will it ever be. God has control of everything and other than just do everything that I can, he will take care of the rest. Upon realizing that, I was just calm. For however good or bad that I do things, it doesn’t change the plan of God.
There are just so many things that happen in the mission. So many lessons learned. There aren’t so many things to say. I am going to write a lot next week about how I feel about the year and other such things.
Keeping you always in my prayers
Love

Elder Tonkinson

This entry was posted in La Serena. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

