(I wish I had a creative title but all my creativity is escaping me right now)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Will you be celebrating Thanksgiving on Thursday with other Americans or will it be a normal day?

  • We are going to call the Gringos in our zone to wish them a happy Thanksgiving, and we might have lunch with an American family in the Ward. Other than that, we are going to work. Like always ūüôā

Have the stores started with the Holiday sales push down in Chile?

  • They start selling Christmas items the day after Halloween.

Share something you have learned during your service as a zone leader.

  • Better question, What haven’t I learned?
  • The interesting thing about working in leadership where the obvious example is Christ, makes you realize how much progress there is to be made. So here goes a little list.
  • You must always live it, or you can never teach it. That goes for everything.
  • Small notes, and candies somehow make people much happier, so do them often.
  • Doctrine and Covenants 121:34-46 always has the answer to your leadership needs.
  • As a leader in the gospel your job isn’t really to come up with anything knew, it is to apply the revelation that the prophet has recieved from God and that has been further developed in progress. For example. The focus of President Monson has been reactivation or the rescue. Therefore the area presidency has created goals and objectives to reactivate a fair number of people in the area. That objective was passed to President Kaihnlein who recieved revelation about how to apply it in Mision Chile, vi√Īa del mar. That vision was passed to us in more specific detail during consejo. We studied it, applied it, had good experiences and then had a training session with the zone where we taught them exactly what president had taught us. The whole purpose being that of a portavoz (voice carrier) for our leaders.
  • You must love them or you are just a rule nazi.

Share something from your recent scripture study  that you have learned or come to understand more fully.

  • I learned something fascinating yesterday in a chance we had to share with our Elders quorum president. We were about to go teach a lesson about keeping the Sabbath Day Holy, and he shared with us these scriptures in Exodus about the time in which the Children of Israel were in the desert, looking for food. As you will remember the Lord gave them Manna. [Exodus 16:22-27]
    • 22 And it came to pass,¬†that¬†on the sixth day they gathered twice as much bread, two omers for one¬†man:¬†and all the rulers of the¬†congregation¬†came and told Moses.
  • ¬†23¬†And he said unto them, This¬†is that¬†which the¬†Lord¬†hath said, To morrow¬†is¬†the rest of the holy¬†sabbath¬†unto the¬†Lord:¬†bakethat¬†which ye will bake¬†to day,¬†and¬†seethe¬†that ye will seethe; and that which remaineth over lay up for you to be kept until the morning.
    24 And they laid it up till the morning, as Moses bade: and it did not stink, neither was there any worm therein.
    25 And Moses said, Eat that to day; for to day is a sabbath unto the Lord: to day ye shall not find it in the field.
    26 Six days ye shall gather it; but on the seventh day, which is the sabbath, in it there shall be none.
    27 ¶And it came to pass, that there went out some of the people on the seventh day for to gather, and they found none.
    The lesson that I learned and that he emphasized was this. There may appear to be some gain in doing work on Sunday. We may technically earn money according to the measurement of the world. However, the Lord cannot and will not bless us if we do not obey his commandments. Therefore, as the emphasized parts demonstrate. There is nothing to be found in working on the sabath day. Absolutely nothing. A wonderfully simple and beautiful principle.

Plus 10 things you are thankful for.

  1. A family that loves me.
  2. Another year left in the mission
  3. The opportunity to be protected from temptations
  4. A gospel that will lead me to everlasting life and exaltation.
  5. Intelligence (although it isn¬īt as much as I once thought ) ūüėÄ o sea D:
  6. That I never have to go hungry
  7. For a Heavenly Father that stretches me as far as I can take it and supports me in growth.
  8. For a Savior that made it possible to be forgiven of my mistakes, and strengthened in my weaknesses
  9. For a basic knowledge of the Plan of my Heavenly Father and a firm testimony that it is His plan
  10. Friends that forgive me for estupideces
  11. Parents who never give up on me.
  12. A Father that is honest in his dealings with men, constant in his study of the scriptures and that recognizes his weaknesses and tries to come over them. A provider and a firm guide.  A kind, generous man, who enjoys the life that his Father has given him.
  13. A Mother who has always been there to support me in all of my righteous decisions. To show me how to love my siblings and to correct me in the necessary moments. A loving example of charity. I don’t know the number of times I have seen her sacrifice her desires for the needs of others.
  14. An older brother that has always been there to support me and to teach me through his own experience.
  15. An older sister that put up with a younger red headed brother and loved him even though he was/is obnoxious
  16. A younger brother who is diligent in his studies and in the gospel even when it is hard, that is an example for me of how to never give in. A young man that would never hurt  a fly and defends his younger siblings.
  17. A Little brother who loves the priesthood that he has just recieved and wants to bless others.
  18. An adorable little sister that makes me remember why we must be as children.

As always tell us about your week.

  • We had an incredible baptism. This young man has been coming to church for like 6 months. His mom was less active adn his dad should be baptized in the next couple weeks. For a long time his dad opposed his baptism so he couldn’t, but recently we got it all figured out and he was able to get baptized but there was great pressure on both sides. He stood up at the end and bore his testimony. That ended like this ” I want an eternal family. In the name of Jesus Christ amen.” I cannot express the Spirit that was there as he spoke those words with the conviction of someone of many more years. That same testimony broke the outer shell of his father.
  • It was hard, but I loved it. I have learned to love that which is hard.

Did you get your debit card taken care of? [the bank suddenly started denying his attempts to use the card and won’t let me, even though I am listed on the account, resolve whatever issue it is]

  • no, I asked permission to make an international phone call

All is well. I love you and pray for you often,

Elder Tonkinson

This entry was posted in La Serena. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

