Loner

Questions:

How do you get your laundry done (are you doing it at the pension, in a laundromat, or do you have someone do it for you)?

  • I do laundry in the pension. It is easier. There is an Hermana that does it for us if we need it but There has just been little time recently

Did you watch the First Presidency devotional tonight?

  • No 😦 I hope to download it and listen to it in some chance. [Download, read or watch here]
  • Actually I am listening to it now as I write. I love Christmas time. There is a very strong spirit in the air. Even when it is hot outside ( I do not get the celcius thing still. I can’t think in celcius it just doesn’t compute. Because temperature you feel, and I am used to associating it in one way and I just can’t) anyway. There is still a special spirit

We are lame on the question front, so please just tell us about your week.

This week there were changes. My companion is now the asistant to the misison president. My new companion is a Peruvian ( I don’t have fotos); his name is Elder Montero. He is very different from Elder Ascanio, but I love him as well. The changes in and of themselves were very stressful though. I hadn’t been feeling that well for a couple days.  Just really tired and not sleeping well. Saturday morning President called Elder Ascanio and told him that he would be leaving Sunday morning. Then, we started our fast after lunch and had a full day of running around trying to get everything done so that he could go and so that he could say bye to a couple of people. We went to a different ward to be able to participate in the sacrament and then I went with him and a member of the stake presidency to the bus station and stayed with him till he left at 11:40. Then I returned to my ward and was at church without a companion (accompanied by a priest). That, in and of itself, is a stressful task. There is a lot to do when there are investigators. The rest of the day I worked with the other missionaries and then in the evening had to organize the changes on my own: making pairs of missionaries, organizing where they were going to be and with who, answering phone calls and getting a hold of the tickets. It was fun 🙂 haha

Anyway, it all went well and then the next day I just had to handle the morning and then my new companion arrived. I slept well last night and have a little more energy right now.

Everything is going well, there is a lot to be done in the zone and in the mission.

I don’t have a lot to say. We walked a lot this last week. The work has been slow and hard but it has gone steadily.

As I said I Love Christmas. This last week we had a couple chances to help some people decorate trees and prepare other things. One evening we decorated a tree and sang Christmas Carols.  I loved it.

More then anything I am thankful for all of the memories I have of Christmas and am hoping to make some good ones here.

Thank you for everything and I hope that you are enjoying the Holiday season with the correct spirit.

I love you

Elder Tonkinson

Omni 1:26 And now, my beloved brethren, I would that ye should acomeunto Christ, who is the Holy One of Israel, and partake of his salvation, and the power of his redemption. Yea, come unto him, and boffer your whole souls as an coffering unto him, and continue in dfasting and praying, and endure to the end; and as the Lord liveth ye will be saved.

This entry was posted in La Serena. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loner

  1. Dear Elder Tonkinson, we here in the states are revving up for Christmas. We will be spending our Christmas Day with my 93 year old parents and my cousins. Then we are heading out to Arizona to visit our son Michael and his family and then on to Texas to visit our Daughter Donna , her husband and their 3 cats. It seems time has flown since our last Christmas and my father’s heart attack last year. This year of 2013 brings us great joy already. Our son Michael was just mad 1st counselor in the Bishopric of the Desert Palms ward and our grandson Austin receives the priesthood all in Jan. Paul is so happy he will be there to stand in the circle for Austin and they have allowed Mike to receive High Priest status until Bro. Osborn can come out to be there to do the honors. On another level our Granddaughter turned 16 back in Feb and she had her first double date. I think her father was a little nervous. We teased him saying : “did you get your shotgun out, sitting on the porch waiting for her?” His reply was ” No, but I have a Samurai sword I could have gotten out!” Ha, ha.
    So enough of the jocularity. We want you to know how much we love hearing about your mission and the experiences you have. The Lord will bless you as you continue on. As the parents of two returned missionaries many things will come in your way and many thing will be given to you and make it easier. As a mother of them I always worried they weren’t eating right. So just remember not only do you need to feed the spirit you need to feed the body with healthy good food. Eat well. Take good care of yourself. May the Lord bless you Greatly and carry you on to great deeds. We wish you a very blessed and Merry Christmas. The Osborn’s

Leave a Reply

