You win some, you lose some

DSC06356-1

Last week you mentioned you were preparing for changes that were coming, if you can, tell us what has changed in you mission.

They were just the normal changes. The ones that happen every six weeks. Old missionaries left, new missionaries came and a whole bunch got moved around. It was entertaining to say the very least. We are in charge of alot of the setup, preparation and planning of the changes and it being my first time, there were a couple of bumps. In the end everything worked out well though. I learned a whole bunch of things that I didn´t know before.

How did your fast go last weekend?

We had a small emergency and I didn’t get to it. We didn’t eat on Saturday till very late. I am hoping to do it today.

Share something you learned from your scripture study this week.

Mormon chapter 2:12-13

And it came to pass that when I, Mormon, saw their lamentation and their mourning and their sorrow before the Lord, my heart did begin to rejoice within me, knowing the mercies and the long-suffering of the Lord, therefore supposing that he would be merciful unto them that they would again become a righteous people.

But behold this my joy was vain, for their sorrowing was not unto repentance, because of the goodness of God; but it was rather the sorrowing of the damned, because the Lord would not always suffer them to take happiness in sin.

I believe that this impacted me because it is interesting how sometimes the Lord must teach us in a manner that is very hard. Such that it causes us to mourn and to suffer a little. However if we take heed to that suffering and it makes us become a righteous people and repent then it is fine. It is a strong reminder for those that think “eat drink and be merry for tomorrow we die” because the Lord will not suffer that they find happiness in their wickedness. It is against the whole plan.

Share whatever is on your mind.

What is on my mind. Recently the thing that has been on my mind most has been making all that we are doing here simpler. There are still several redundant processes in what we do as Assistants. As well there are a lot of inefficiencies that I want to take out. So that has been on my mind, because as quickly as I can do that there opens up  more time to be preoccupied with other things.

Other then that all is well. Funny stories from the week are these.

DSC06372

During the changes I ripped my pants open 🙂 We were on the bus ride home from Santiago and the back of my green suit got hooked on a small handle that is used to recline the seat and they got ripped open. So I walked very carefully for the rest of the afternoon until I had the chance to change my suit.

 

 

My companion fell asleep as he was doing a nightly prayer. His words just stopped all of the sudden and I realized that he was asleep.

Other then that. All is good and I am happy

Thank you for your love. I looked up the house on the LDS maps webiste. I like it. It is pretty.

All of my love

Elder Tonkinson

Asistentes

Elder Tonkinson with his companion and the mission president.

This entry was posted in Vina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

