The New Office

Questions:  have you bought a new suit yet?

IMG_3814

  • Yes. It is a blue suit. (I don’t know if you will be able to tell in this image). I like it. It really was a pain to find one though. Well, not that much of a pain. But, see the Chilean people are small, many times with large stomaches.  Therefore, in general, the suit jackets are a little bigger, but the pants are relatively small. So, I had to try on like 10 suits before I found one that fit well.  It’s fine though; It isn’t like it needs to be tailored to my body to be more than suitable for mission work. It has been good to have as well because I wear a suit 4-5 days a week right now.

Share whatever is on your mind and tell us about your week.

Last Sunday was a great day. We didn’t teach very much but it was great. We had some really fun contacts. One of the contacts we had was with a young man whose family are all members. He isn’t a member; but when we asked him why, he said he hadn’t ever put serious thought to it. So we shared a little bit with him and asked him about his personal beliefs about God, and he accepted a visit from the missionaries in Valparaiso. They went to see him the next day and now he is preparing to be baptized the 11 of August.

The night before we also started working with a family of four that are Catholics.  Very receptive. The only difficulty here is that when we find new investigators, it is so hard to keep up with them because of all of the extra things that we do. So, we find them and they are great; but within a couple of weeks if we can’t keep up the visits, they get cold.

This week we changed from an old office to the remodeled one. So, Monday was a moving day. We worked from about 8 in the morning till 10 at night moving all of the desks, computers, printers and accessories from one building to another. One thing that has really surprised me is the amount of things that have to be done so that mission work, works.  Applications and getting visas, organizing the payments of the bills for all of the apartments, maintaining the apartments, taking care of the health of the missionaries, it really is a lot of organization.

Tuesday:

We had an interchange. I worked in our sector. It was a relatively good day. For the first time since I arrived to Viña, I had lunch with the members during the week. That was fantastic. It felt so good to be able to eat with a family of members and share with them.

Wednesday:

Another interchange but this time with a new zone leader. It was fun to see him nervous and tense for the first couple of minutes. But we arrived at the first lesson, and I just told him to loosen up and that the point of the interchange wasn’t to be judging him on his abilities. He loosened up right away, and we had a great day after that. We were able to visit lots of investigators. I don’t like the feeling when people get all nervous because they think I am going to correct them in everything. So, I try to make sure that the missionaries feel comfortable so when I do have to correct them they accept it and can still feel that I love them.

Thursday:

We started going around with President to all of the departments to do inspections and interviews with the missionaries. We start at 8:00 in the morning and finish at about 9:00 at night. I have been driving for a lot of them, and it has been a crazy adventure. A lot of the time the GPS commands us to go for long twisting streets in the hills that when we get to the end, they are blocked off and we have to leave the street backing up. 🙂 I have learned how to drive in a lot tighter spaces than I have ever had to drive in before. It is interesting to see how the state of a department is directly related to the perceived spirituality of a missionary. In general, the missionaries that have everything organized and clean are doing well in their mission work. Those that don’t have it very clean or organized frequently complain that nobody wants to listen to them and that their area is dead. As well, there are missionaries that are doing well but need to learn how to organize. Just an observation that I had.

Friday:

More interviews, more twisted streets. It is fun, but it is exhausting. Every day my mind gets a clearer and clearer picture of how the kingdom of God works.

Something from my studies of the week. I have been thinking a lot about what the gospel teaches us about self control. That brought to my remembrance the talk of Elder Bednar about Chastity. Here is a quote that I liked

The precise nature of the test of mortality, then, can be summarized in the following question: Will I respond to the inclinations of the natural man, or will I yield to the enticings of the Holy Spirit and put off the natural man and become a saint through the Atonement of Christ the Lord (see Mosiah 3:19)? That is the test. Every appetite, desire, propensity, and impulse of the natural man may be overcome by and through the Atonement of Jesus Christ. We are here on the earth to develop godlike qualities and to bridle all of the passions of the flesh.” – Elder Bednar

http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2013/04/we-believe-in-being-chaste?lang=eng

For me personally I have thought about my passions. I have thought about how things that I love sometimes influence my attitudes, my reactions and my feelings, and I have thought about what I need to do to be able to overcome them. I like seeing sometimes the practical applications of the Gospel because here at least there are a lot of people that I have been teaching have gotten interested because they see that it can change their bad habits even thought they don’t believe our message.

I am enjoying life and the mission, and I am doing all that is necessary.

All of my Love

Elder Tonkinson

This entry was posted in Vina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

