Just another day in the life

I think for your questions this week, we would love to hear about whatever is on your mind. 

Plus share something that has been challenging  recently and what you have learned from it so far.

  • Living up to personal expectation. One of the things that I have tried very hard to do as a missionary is have a perfect idea of what are all of the things that are my duties. That way I don’t leave any unattended. However, recently I have recieved a lot more, and ones that are a lot more important. Therefore, little by little, I am getting better at it. But I have the weakness of expecting myself to do it all, to do it all correctly and to do it all now. That isn’t possible either, nor does it really exist as part of the gospel but I still expect it of myself. As well, for the moment a lot of the decisions I make or how I make them or handle different situations affect other people, as much in my personal proselyting efforts as well as in my position as a leader. This of course leads one to question whether they are really capable or if they can do it. Which honestly is not a question I frequently ask myself, but is one that I asked several times during this last week. That being said there are several lessons that I have learned.
  • 1: It is hard to get down on yourself if you are constantly busy in doing productive things. Every time that I was busy during the week I didn’t think anything about it. I just worked and prepared the things that had to be prepared for a training meeting, At the same time I had interchanges and worked as hard as I could so there wasn’t a lot of time to think about it. In other situations I did think about it, and it really didn’t help me in anything.
  • 2:Recognizing talents is important. During the week as we drove to…I don’t even remember where with President, we talked about goals and talents. In the conversation we talked a lot about the parable of the talents in the bible and what it means in our lives. All people have talents and special abilities that they have been given in this life. When looking for work or looking to help others, we should exploit those talents and make them grow so that in the last day the Lord is content with our effort and our 5 or 2 or even our 1 talent will have doubled. So this morning I took my Patriarchal blessing and I wrote all of the talents that it mentioned in the blessing and then on the side I wrote plans and ways that I can make all of those talents grow. It was a great exercise, and hope that little by little I can discover new talents to put on that list
  • 3: many times our personal challenges can be to bless the lives of others. I was talking with my companion yesterday and he said that during this last week he finally started to feel comfortable in what he is doing. I understood there that in all of my excitement to make sure that everything was done perfectly and on time, I frequently take control of everything. During this last week, I delegated a lot more to him and left a lot more of the decisions in his hands. In doing so, while for me it was the result of insecurity for a moment, for him it was a challenge of having to learn and grow. (now it isn’t like I sat down like a vegetable during the week.) Just where normally I would do 70 percent of the things to do we came out at an even 50 50 this week. 
  • It was overall a good lesson to learn.

Something you have been pondering from your scripture study.

  • One thing that I enjoy doing is taking passages of the scriptures and applying them a little more personally. 
  • These are from 2 Nephi 1:10-13 
  • 10 But behold, when the time cometh that they shall dwindle in unbelief, after they have received so great blessings from the hand of the Lord—having a knowledge of the creation of the earth, and all men, knowing the great and marvelous works of the Lord from the creation of the world; having power given them to do all things by faith; having all the commandments from the beginning, and having been brought by his infinite goodness into this precious land of promise—behold, I say, if the day shall come that they will reject the Holy One of Israel, the true Messiah, their Redeemer and their God, behold, the judgments of him that is just shall rest upon them. 

     11 Yea, he will bring other nations unto them, and he will give unto them power, and he will take away from them the lands of their possessions, and he will cause them to be scattered and smitten. 

     12 Yea, as one generation passeth to another there shall be bloodsheds, and great visitations among them; wherefore, my sons, I would that ye would remember; yea, I would that ye would hearken unto my words.

     13 O that ye would awake; awake from a deep sleep, yea, even from the sleep of hell, and shake off the awful chains by which ye are bound, which are the chains which bind the children of men, that they are carried away captive down to the eternal gulf of misery and woe.

  • In general I feel that these scriptures apply to personal wickedness. When we stop living the gospel, many different things start to invade our lives and in succession we start losing many of the blessings that we previously had.  I will give a personal example. Recently with a lot of things going on and lots of travel and “not normal” days I have not MADE nearly as much time to read the scriptures. In all honesty, I really didn’t feel any effects at first. Little by little, I have noticed that my ability to use the scriptures in teaching situations has gone down, and my ability to relacionar the scriptures with everything else has gone down. So yesterday I put an alarm on my cell phone for 11:00 pm that says READ YOUR SCRIPTURES.  At 11:00, I am either in the office or I am in my house getting ready for bed and for the same circumstances that I mentioned before I have the option to take 30 minutes and read. I promise you that even just with 30 minutes last night I have felt the spirit differently then yesterday and I am sure the same will happen tomorrow as well. 

Tell us about something that made you laugh/smile from your week.  This was only possible and therefore only funny because it was at the end of a long day and everyone was tired.

Last night, we were running a little late to get two companionships of sister missionaries to the bus terminal. We only have 5 spaces in our truck. My companion and I were sitting in the two front seats waiting for them to get situated in the back. My companion scooted up and we tried to make room but it wasn’t working. So one of the Hermanas hopped out and opened my companion’s door. In this moment, my mind took what I felt was the most logical leap. “Oh..there wasn’t enough room in the back, so she is going to get in the front seat, and then my mind made the other jump. OH NO, my companion is already in the front seat,” and I looked at her with what I think was a “what are you doing” face and said “Hermana, you can’t get in the front seat with my companion.” For this comment, I received a polite look and a couple words that just about said “are you stupid” from the hermana: “I am just going to put my bags here.”

OOOPS 🙂

All is well in zion I can’t complain.

All of my love, 

— 

Elder Tonkinson

This entry was posted in Vina. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just another day in the life

  1. It sounds like you have come to good terms with your mission and are being blessed greatly with the knowledge you need to teach. the Lord has blessed you and will continue to do so. Our simple life here is boring compared to yours. We presently have been busy with Bro, Osborn being a temple worker and I fill in playing the piano Relief Society. We recently gave a neighbor a Book of Mormon. She is from Thailand so we gave her one in the Thai language. She said she would read it. I hope and pray she will. Her husband is very nice and we have been neighbors and friends for a long time. he said he wasn’t interested in looking into the church, but she does ask us Q’s. Bor. Osborn works at the same place that this man works so we are hoping and praying that she will love reading The B of M and will what to come to church sometime with us. Only time and patience with this couple will tell. Our prayers are with you, God bless. Sister Osborn

Leave a Reply

