Sick!

This week was crazy!!! As all weeks are when new missionaries come to the mission and the old ones go away.  Everything about changes went fantastic. The old missionaries left on time; the new ones got here without any problems. President finished interviewing them more quickly then he thought, and we finished running them all over the place earlier as well. Wednesday in the morning, we had a great training meeting and then we went to lunch and then in lunch we had a unique problem. All morning president was suffering from Flu symptoms but with medication was fine. During lunch however he came over to talk to me and said. “Elder Tonkinson I don’t think I am going to be able to do the training in the afternoon, or the change meeting. I am going to try but I feel really sick,” which is when I noticed that his hands were trembling from the change of temperature as his fever skyrocketed. So we gave him a blessing to help him out but as we finished the blessing he said he had to leave. He left and went to the hospital for medical attention, and we were left in charge of the biggest most complicated meeting that we have 🙂 Plus I had to do two hours of training based on presentations that I had never seen, all on my own. It was a grand adventure, but I could feel very directly the Spirit instructing me what things that I needed to do or to teach so that everything came out well. I trained the trainers, and then I trained the trainers with their trainees [new missionaries]. I found myself very grateful for the gift of “having all things brought to remembrance,” [John 14:26] because I have not studied the trainers manual since I trained, and I had several details come to my mind that were useful for instruction. I was content, I felt like everything was under control. 

Part of the photos that were promised

DSC06394  DSC06423

I hit 100000 kilometers in the mission van!!! Of course, that isn’t all from my driving, but I was driving when the van got there. I consider it to be a great milestone!

DSC06403

8:00 in the morning buying food for when all of the new missionaries get there. 

 

As for my study during this week I have been making time every night to read a little extra. During one of those moments I studied in 2 Nephi 2:26-30. 

“26 And the aMessiah cometh in the fulness of time, that he maybredeem the children of men from the fall. And because that they are credeemed from the fall they have become dfree forever, knowing good from evil; to act for themselves and not to be acted upon, save it be by the punishment of the elaw at the great and last day, according to the commandments which God hath given.

 27 Wherefore, men are afree according to the bflesh; and callthings are dgiven them which are expedient unto man. And they are free to echoose fliberty and eternal glife, through the great Mediator of all men, or to choose captivity and death, according to the captivity and power of the devil; for he seeketh that all men might be hmiserable like unto himself.

 28 And now, my sons, I would that ye should look to the greataMediator, and hearken unto his great commandments; and be faithful unto his words, and choose eternal life, according to the will of his Holy Spirit;

 29 And not choose eternal death, according to the will of the flesh and the aevil which is therein, which giveth the spirit of the devil power to bcaptivate, to bring you down to chell, that he may reign over you in his own kingdom.

 30 I have spoken these few words unto you all, my sons, in the last days of my probation; and I have chosen the good part, according to the words of the prophet. And I have none other object save it be the everlasting awelfare of your souls. Amen.” 2 Nephi 2:26-30

I love how simple the scriptures are when they address themes like this.  but as I read this it brought my mind to what have become my favorite 2 verses.

 “32 Yea, acome unto Christ, and be bperfected in him, and cdenyyourselves of all ungodliness; and if ye shall deny yourselves of all ungodliness, and dlove God with all your might, mind and strength, then is his grace sufficient for you, that by his grace ye may beeperfect in Christ; and if by the grace of God ye are perfect in Christ, ye can in nowise deny the power of God.

 33 And again, if ye by the grace of God are perfect in Christ, and deny not his power, then are ye asanctified in Christ by the grace of God, through the shedding of the bblood of Christ, which is in the covenant of the Father unto the remission of your csins, that ye become dholy, without spot.” Moroni 10:32.33

I am thankful that I have a Savior to take me out of my imperfections and that has grace sufficient to lift me up. 

Con amor, cariño y abrazos

— 

Elder Tonkinson

This entry was posted in Vina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

