6 months later

6 Months ago I had a quick conversation with President in his office which ended with an invitation to be his assistant for some time. It seems like it was literally yesterday. This morning I was informed of my change…or that would be I logged on and took a look at it ūüôā (last use of that great power, hahaha) I am excited for my new area. ¬†Don’t post it until after next wednesday but I will be in Gran Breta√Īa. A branch in the district of Valparaiso Oeste. I will serve there as a District ¬†Leader, finishing the training of a new missionary until I leave at the beginning of December.¬†¬†I am WAAAAAAAYYY excited. It is exactly what I wanted. That also means that I will not write again until Monday the 11 of November. Just so you know.

Questions: Any interesting observations from Halloween/Day of the Dead in Chile?

  • Children, but not so many, walked through the streets in costumes asking for candy. Just about the same as the US but on a much smaller scale. It wasn’t anything to get excited over.
  • Then yesterday everyone went to the cemetery to visit their departed loved ones. It was interesting but not overly surprising nor did I find it horribly interesting. It is so much greater the knowledge of a plan of salvation to comfort us then a sad visit to the cemetery. I am grateful that throughout my life we have never made it a big habit to go to the cemetery
  • At about 5 o clock in the afternoon I had a small personal party with my companion (that means I/we bought aflajores (an argentine cookieish thing)). But it was to celebrate 2 years since my setting apart as a missionary. It was fun.

What was the spiritual high point for the week?

  • We had a great lesson with an evangelical matrimony. They have been really difficult with us recently. Every thing that we left with them to read, they read and then rejected immediately. But we got there, and they asked us the following “Will we ¬†remember things from this earth after we die?” ¬†We said yes and shared a scripture from the Book of Mormon which explained that, that was the case.They then proceeded to ask us about resurrection and we shared in Alma 40:23
  • ¬†23¬†The¬†asoul¬†shall be¬†brestored¬†to the¬†cbody, and the body to the soul; yea, and every limb and joint shall be restored to its body; yea, even a¬†dhair¬†of the head shall not be lost; but all things shall be restored to their proper and¬†eperfect¬†frame.
  • They then asked, “Will it really be like that? Is everyone really going to resurrected?”
  • “Yes,” we answered, “Christ did.”
  • “Yes, but he was the Christ! and we are not like him.”
  • Then we shared in 1 Corinthians 15:12:¬†“Now if Christ be preached that he rose from the dead, how say some among you that there is no resurrection of the dead?¬†13¬†But if there be no resurrection of the dead, then is Christ not risen:¬†21¬†For since by man¬†came¬†adeath, by man¬†came¬†also theb¬†resurrection¬†of the dead. ¬†22¬†For as in¬†aAdam¬†all¬†bdie, even so in¬†cChrist¬†shall all be maded¬†alive.”
  • They literally sat there stunned. All of their perception of resurrection and life after death was changed in a sitting with two young men who they had been attacking for 3 lessons. It was incredible.
  • They are a lot more receptive now then they were before. It was a very memorable teaching moment.

Tell us whatever is on your mind.

It has been a good week in general. We have had lots of interchanges. I really love how the mission is now. I don’t know how to describe it. I feel so comfortable. So ready for the things that are coming, sure of the things that I need to work on to make significant improvements. There is a lot of confidence that comes after working for so long to make so many changes that I really don’t get stressed anymore.

I am in general, I am doing just great.

This week I have been doing great on my reading of the Book of Mormon, 4 chapters every single day. I have enjoyed it thoroughly. One thing that really called my attention was in Alma chapter 1:15: “And it came to pass that they took him; and his name wasa¬†Nehor; and they carried him upon the top of the hill Manti, and there he was caused, or rather did acknowledge, between the heavens and the earth, that what he had taught to the people was contrary to the word of God; and there he suffered an ignominiousb¬†death.¬†16¬†Nevertheless, this did not put an end to the spreading of priestcraft through the land; for there were many who loved the vain things of the world, and they went forth preaching¬†afalse doctrines; and this they did for the sake of¬†briches¬†and honor.

Now, it calls my attention for the following reasons. According to what we read there isn’t reason to believe that up until this moment that there was great iniquity in the population. In general, they were obedient, faithful, good-doing people. It calls my attention that for one man entered all of these problems. In fact, it calls my attention that after his false preaching, when even he admitted that it was false, and when he had died it states NEVERTHELESS. I feel that in my life there are many things that start in my life and then I realize that maybe they aren’t the greatest things. For example, an innocent example, with one companion we put some goals for a while that were tied to treats. Things such as pie de limon, negritas (a cookie) and chocolates. This was certainly motivating and helped us to have better results but it took away a part of the spirit. Therefore, we stopped doing it. I found after though that I always had desires to eat those cookies or to have that pie. Interestingly even after realizing and stopping the practice, its influence continued until I came to understand again the doctrine and apply it so that I could focus myself on the work. We must be careful to root out all after affects of things that we realize are taking away the spirit or are taking us towards sin.

Anyway. I am happy.

Lots of love and hugs.

Elder Tonkinson

This entry was posted in Vina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

